Tuesday, January 14, 2014

One of my 8th graders today asked me the classic question, “when we will ever use this in real life.” Knowing I risked the chance of an uprising, I replied, “you probably won’t.” Naturally, they asked, “So why do we have to learn it?” I replied that even though they may not use some of the exact concepts they learn in school, the problem solving and critical thinking skills that they’re developing by learning about the concepts will be used everyday for the rest of their lives. They pondered this for a few moments, shrugged as if saying, “OK, I guess we’ll buy that,” and the class continued. Fun moment.

Leave a Reply

