I Think We’re Gonna Need a Bigger Wall (10/13/14)

Since I’m using SBG this year, one of the things I loved was how some other teachers designated some area of their classroom to celebrate students who have shown great perseverance or mastery of concepts. So 2 weeks ago I made a “Wall of Mastery” with the largest free space in my room. When a student masters a concept, he or she gets a post-it (each class has a different color), writes his or her name and which learning target was mastered, and gets to stick it on the wall. I looked at the wall at the end of the day today and it put a big smile on my face. Students haven’t been given the chance to master many learning targets yet (2 in my geometry classes and only 1 in my math 8 classes), as they have to show me they are proficient with a skill at some random time of my choosing, and yet, the wall is still pretty full. Every one of those post-its represents hard work and effort. Students are learning and it’s a nice reminder of that. I can’t wait to see what it looks like in a couple more weeks. I’m pretty sure that eventually we’re gonna need a bigger wall.

IMG_4146

Leave a Reply

