8? (11/13/14)

After taking 2 weeks off, I’m back! We just came back to school yesterday after a 4 day weekend, and if you’re anything like me, the “short” weeks always feel like the longest! I’ve been confused about what day it is, what classes I see each day, etc. That leads into what happened today.

So today we were talking about my favorite infinite sum (1+2+3+4+5…) with geometry (we’ve been discussing these once a week as a warm-up because they really get into them). Before we discuss, I have each student write their initial guess on a small piece of paper and collect them, then I write all of their answers anonymously on the board. So today I collected the papers, walked up to the board, and looked at the first one. 8. 8? Really? I was confused but I write all answers on the board so I wrote it and looked at the next paper. 8. Seriously?!!! So I put a check next to the first 8 and looked at the next paper. 8?!!! You’ve got to be kidding me!!! I was really confused about how multiple students all came up with 8 as an answer. Then one girl said, “Mr. M, are you sure that’s not infinity?” I proceeded to have one of those moments where I realized what had just happened and then couldn’t do anything but laugh. The rest of the discussion, anytime I referred to infinity, I called it 8. The students, of course, thought the whole situation was hilarious!

Leave a Reply

