When your students are wittier than you… (2/19/15)

Today we were working on writing linear and non-linear functions from Brad Fulton’s book, The Pattern and Function Connection. There are 52 patterns, labeled A-Z and then AA-ZZ. Of course, when any group began working on Function PP I heard them snicker and giggle. I get it. It’s kind of funny even for me (teaching middle school is easier if your sense of humor is closer to theirs). Anyways, I was with one group who got Function PP and began giggling, to which I sarcastically laughed and said, “OK, get it out of your system.” Without missing a beat, one of my funnier 8th graders replied with, “Pun intended.” It was brilliant. So quick. So perfectly timed. I was jealous I didn’t think of it first! I couldn’t help but laugh out loud. I love it when that happens.

Leave a Reply

